The First Days of School

Last Saturday was my first sewing class. I could hardly sleep the night before because I was so excited and nervous.  I laid in bed wondering what my teacher would be like, if the other students would be nice, and of course…what to wear. The next morning came early. I ate a good breakfast, packed my bag, and put on my current favorite cardigan with yellow stripes, a pair of comfy jeans, and brown sandals. I got to class 10 minutes early, hoping to pick the perfect seat and settle in before everything began. But, evidently 10am classes at the local sewing machine repair shop actually means 9:45am! I walked into a class that was already in progress! AH!  I couldn’t believe that I was late for the first class!

Fortunately, showing up “late” for class didn’t seem to bother anyone but me.  The teacher and students sat around a large cutting table in high stools.  Each one of them had a syllabus in front of them (which I love!).  As the class continued we covered a lot of topics about sewing.  We mostly focused on how to read the back of patterns, taking measurements, general facts about fabrics, and pressing vs. ironing those fabrics.  While most things weren’t new to me, I found myself writing down everything she said!  I didn’t want to miss a thing!

After we chose our fabrics, we  looked at the patterns we’ll be using for the class…pajama pants!  At first, I was like, “Pajama pants?! Seriously?”  It didn’t seem like an incredibly beautiful thing to create, nothing remarkable or memorable.  But, after the second class I was pretty thankful to be doing something basic because it gives me time to really understand the processes.

So here is my fabric…It’s kinda weird, I know, but it was the only choice left other than the crazy chartreuse option I had.  The good things about it are that it’s organic, soft, and gave me the opportunity to learn how to match up patterns at the seams when cutting out the fabric!  That’s going to be a very handy skill!

